Xmas Filmfair


My biased Top 11 of British and American movies to say nothing about Love Actually and Bridget Jones’s Diary

  1. It’s a Wonderful Life. 1946. Absolute favourite. Although the genres stated are drama/fantasy, I personally would agree with the second one and only to some extent with how dramatic the content is. Au contraire, the movie seemed life-asserting to me.It’s a life story of a businessman whose dream life had never come true. One day, having understood that, he started to feel desperate, confused… and there starts the magic. 
  2. Miracle on the 34th Street. 1947. A worthy number 2. Probably this is the only movie where Santa is insane! Well, people just assume that Santa is just an insane creep. Owing to a young lawyer who decides to help him, Santa Claus is back to his work.
  3. The Nightmare before Christmas. 1993. First of all, it’s not a movie. Second of all, there is a lot of music. Third of all, the director is Tim Burton… If you are still not afraid, then go and watch it!
  4. A Christmas Carol. 2009. My love to Dickens’s old-fashioned writing had played a major part in choosing this animated film my second best. The story, so simple and obvious, was depicted in such horrible details, even the wrinkles on the main character’s face were terrible… I believe no one can be indifferent to the movie. You either love it or hate it.
  5. Elf. 2003. The kindest movie I have ever seen. After a 20 year break I started to believe in Santa again!
  6. The Holiday. 2006. I strongly recommend it to emotional people. It’s a romantic comedy with nothing extra: just two girls decided on-the-spot that it would be great to swap their houses. Simple, silly but totally romantic.
  7. Serendipity. 2001. Men will hate this movie. There is nothing logical about what was happening that Christmas. That is exactly the thing I adored about it.
  8. How the Grinch Stole Christmas! 1966. A bad guy Grinch steal Christmas from the citizens of Whoville. A cartoon, a poem, a green creature… It’s lovely when comes altogether.
  9. The Family Man. 2000. Another romantic comedy where Xmas is not the main focus, but a complimentary background. Goes well with popcorn and tears.
  10. Deck the Halls. 2006. This is a funny and silly family comedy that will neither make you think a lot, nor feel guilty…ever. The main characters appear to be too evil. No one can beat them when it comes to revenge! BTW I don’t care about the unbelievably low rating!
  11. Shrek the Halls. 2007. This one I love because it’s short and comes handy when I start preparing to my Xmas classes. 

My biased Top 11 of movies is based not so much on my personal preferences but mostly on my professional needs 🙂

Об авторе irinanrial

Привет! Это мой персональный блог, который не преследует никаких творческих или коммерческих целей. Он родился давно - еще в ЖЖ, поэтому в нем вы найдете много нужной (и еще больше ненужной) информации обо мне, о том, что меня волнует и не волнует, а также, куда меня привели мечты, и как они ошиблись государством :)
Запись опубликована в рубрике My English Crib с метками , , , . Добавьте в закладки постоянную ссылку.

2 комментария на «Xmas Filmfair»

  1. Holiday is pretty cool — Christmas, some romance and a bit of comedy — that's a good cocktail!
    Family Man is ok too, I guess. Though I think I wouldn't have watched the movie if Cage (with puppy eyes as his superpower) wasn't starring.
    At some moments the movie seems really deep, and at some moments characters just make me go «WTF people what are you doing?!»
    Enjoyed «The Family Man», nevertheless.
    I also liked Burton's «Nightmare…» quite a lot — though I'm not particularly into musical movies/cartoons (The Lion King is an exception!). Jack the Pumkin King is goood. And has a charming smile.

    Generally, what I like about Christmas movies is that they are usually warmer and kinder than other and less cynical as well (and romantic scenes and stuff fit this combo just perfectly)

    Try this one — it's short and funny and is about Christmas 🙂

    Нравится

  2. Hilarious 🙂 Thank you!

    As for the list of movies, just make sure you watch It's A Wonderful Life!

    Нравится

Поговорим?

